Why ‘Small But Kinda Mighty’? Why a beetle?!

My wonderful friend Cynthia is a mother and an artist. She also blogs at CGregoryRun where she says things that always make me laugh and sometimes make me cry. She recently drew a fantastic new profile picture for my blog's Facebook page:

Isn't it brilliant? I love it! It reminds me that I have been meaning to share with you why I have always had a beetle as my Facebook page's profile picture. Which also reminds me, maybe I should explain where my blog's name came from as well.

I chose 'Small But Kinda Mighty' for a couple of reasons. The 'Kinda' was because 'Small But Mighty' sounded too pretentious; the kinda took the edge off it a bit… kinda. Small is an apt description of me – height-wise I'm 5 ft – and I've always subscribed to the view that the pen is mightier than the sword. Not that I write with a pen – you get what I mean though – it's a metaphor. Lastly, the phrase seemed to capture perfectly how I think of my children.

Oliver and Owen were born 11 weeks premature and were 2lbs 5oz and 2lbs 3oz at birth. As preemies often do, they survived a lot of dangers in utero and at birth. Then they had to overcome what felt like countless obstacles, before being discharged from the NICU at the age of 9 weeks. Since then my boys have stayed small, at 6 years old Owen is still only 35 lbs, but they've handled all the occupational, behavioural and speech therapies, as well as life in general, in a way that I certainly view as mighty.

After a lot of hounding (from my friend Cynthia), I set up a Facebook page for my blog. I decided I'd use a rhinoceros or hercules beetle as my profile picture for two reasons. First, I think they're cool looking and second, they are capable of supporting up to 850 times their own weight. That's like you and I carrying 6 double-decker buses around. They aren't aggressive though – they don't bite or sting and are often kept as pets. A small, gentle creature that's proportionally very mighty. Sounds like my kids.

So, a huge thank you to Cynthia and a massive shout-out to two small but more-than-kinda-mighty boys who are my biggest inspiration.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Comments on “Why ‘Small But Kinda Mighty’? Why a beetle?!”

  1. Helen Wagner July 20, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Thanks! Love it!

    • OMum22 July 20, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      Thanks Helen – I love it. It also makes me giggle every time I see it… 🙂

  2. Diane July 20, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    What a great picture of the boys. We have a small but mighty, too. Doctor weighed her today and she is 36 lbs….again….3rd year in a row. She is growing taller, so you’d think she’d have to gain a little by default. But, as you pointed out, you can’t weigh inspiration. Good thing I suppose, since our kids would blow the charts and statistics out of the water if inspiration, courage, and heart could be weighed.

    • OMum22 July 20, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      Thanks for commenting Diane. Owen is getting taller but seemingly no heavier. It’s so noticeable now it’s hot and he’s just wearing a tee and shorts – he looks like a little stork! He’s 100th percentile in all the qualities you mention though.

  3. Gingerheaddad July 20, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    A lovely post. They are heroes.

    • OMum22 July 20, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      Thanks Jim. They are to me, for sure.

Leave a Reply

