I went for a run today

Well, not really a run because I haven’t done that in months. A 10 minute walk to warm up, 30 minutes of 1 minute intervals jogging and walking, then a 10 minute walk to cool down.

One of the reasons I haven’t been running in a while is because I was having trouble finding my iPod. I found it yesterday and its importance to my running was amply demonstrated today. It was a beautiful day for a run – bright blue skies, the sun warming my skin and a cool breeze coming off the lake.

About 20 minutes into the 30 minutes of intervals I hit that point – the one where you still feel pretty comfortable but you’ve just started a minute of jogging, you’re approaching a hill and a man on a mobile scooter has just zoomed past you leaving you with a view that’s just a tad demotivating…

In this moment your mind tries hard to convince you that you should stop running. Nothing hurts but you’re just uncomfortable enough that you feel like you would rather not be doing it. In that moment I knew that the song I was listening to wasn’t enough to keep me going. I run with a Timex watch that syncs with my iPod so I hit the button to skip a track and hit running-music gold – Sandstorm by Darude. It’s practically impossible for me to hear this music and not run. For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, here’s an excerpt (unfortunately I didn’t have the benefit of the funky Christmas lights):

Thinking about it when I got home I realized that this is why I can’t run without my iPod. It’s not just because the music keeps me going, it’s because it quietens my mind. Everyone needs to find a way to stop themselves from thinking and doing everything else that goes with it – the rationalizing, the bargaining, the second guessing, etc. My mother and I were having a discussion about this once and she suggested that running helped me escape from the stress of life.

I do think books, music, television, films etc. serve that purpose – they take us out of our lives for a period of time. But I think that what running to music does for me is something else, something I also get from certain other activities – hiking, swimming, spinning and yoga. Gingerheaddad meditates, but for me to achieve the same results my body needs to be engaged. I realized today I’m not running to escape from life; I run to practice being more present in it.

Tags: , ,

6 Comments on “I went for a run today”

  1. Diane Compton May 18, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    Our oldest son runs cross country, and he insists it is a mental sport not a physical one. As he said, when your body says there’s a tree let’s go sit under it, your mind has to keep you going. Your body knows it is impossible to sprint for 3 miles, so your brain has to tell you it’s not. I think of that often during my hectic days, like today. Your post was a good reminder to keep going. Thanks!

    • OMum22 May 19, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Diane, your son is smart. Your comment also made me realize something. I started my blog a year ago with a post called ‘I just keep putting one foot in front of the other’ – clearly I inadvertantly came full circle with this last post. I kinda like it when that happens!

  2. SM June 26, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Deanne, congratulations on resuming running! That’s how I started over a year ago… 1 minute at a time, until I looked forward to putting on my shoes and enjoying the silence and the solitude of those early morning runs. BTW, no one knows if you’ve run for 1 minute or 30 minutes straight so keep at it! Way to go!

    • OMum22 June 26, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

      Thanks! I’m enjoying it. I just need to get those new earphones, the scotchtape around my ears is starting to really annoy me. 🙂

      • SM June 29, 2012 at 12:22 am #

        Deanne, I’m sure I have an extra pair or 2 kicking around. send me an email via linked in and I’ll send them to you.

        Sabina

      • OMum22 June 29, 2012 at 8:27 am #

        Haha! Who knew that blogging had benefits 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

