Review and Giveaway of app – DialSafePro

You can win one of 10 copies of DialSafe Pro!

DialSafe is an iOS app developed by LittleBit Studios. You can read about it here: http://www.littlebitstudio.com/dialsafe.html

This app is a fun way to teach your children how to use the phone: it shows kids how to use the phone safely, gives them a way to practice using the phone, helps them memorize important phone numbers and teaches them how to call emergency services. It currently supports the following countries:

  • USA
  • Canada
  • UK
  • Ireland
  • Australia

What do I like about this app? Quite a lot actually:

  • Its child-friendly. Colourful, fun graphics and music that’s up-beat without being irritating.
  • The phone pad actually looks like a real phone! The numbers and buttons are large and easy to read and all the sounds are very realistic. Its as close to a real phone experience as you can get without the fun of letting your children crank-call your friends and neighbours.
  • The “Learn” section goes through how to use a phone, what 911 (or equivalent) is for, and how to deal with calls from strangers.
  • It’s programmable. You can put in your home phone number, parent’s cell phone numbers, grandma’s phone number, etc. (More on that below).
  • The “Practice” section – takes children through step-by-step how to call home and 911. Both visual and verbal cues are used – this is excellent!
  • The “Memory Home” game: playing this teaches kids their home phone number.
  • The “Challenge” section: lets kids call any of the numbers that you’ve programmed into the app. A bonus feature is that you can record up to three phrases to use when the child calls that number. So, if Grandma records “Hello Oliver and Owen” “Thanks for calling” “I love you, bye for now!” – they will hear her saying that when they call her number. There are pauses in-between so they can practice responding appropriately. I have managed to get Oliver to play with this section and he thinks its especially funny to ‘call’ people who are actually with us. I love this feature!

All-in-all this is a fantastic app and well worth the price for the full version (although I have 10 copies to giveaway so you can get it for free!)  There are also some things that I would love to see incorporated in the app if at all possible:

  • The “Learn” section has far too much audio information for my children to process. What would be perfect for us is something that breaks down each step into simple components represented by: a visual of the step, a word or two labelling that step and an audio cue of that label.
  • Similarly, the 911 section has visuals for fire, medical and police personnel but most of the other information is provided by audio commentary. There are no visual cues provided for words like “fire”, “emergency” etc.
  • For non-verbal children, it would be great if they had a way to interact with the simulator. If they are practicing calling 911, adding buttons that would allow them to select fire, police or ambulance would be great.
  • Perhaps add games that would allow children to practice what to do in certain situations. For example, present them with scenarios like – there is a fire in the house, a parent has hurt themselves and can’t talk, their toy has broken – and then get them to choose what the best response would be. Games could also be used to practice the correct response to wrong number calls and calls from strangers.
  • An expansion of the “Memory Home” game to include other numbers we want our kids to learn.

So, here’s how you can win a free copy of this app:

Mandatory entry
Comment on this blog post confirming how you want me to contact you and how many additional entries you have earned.
Additional entries

Edited to remove references to A4cwsn whom I can no longer support

I will be picking the winners on September 15th, 2011. Thanks for reading and good luck with the giveaway!

Tags: , , ,

41 Comments on “Review and Giveaway of app – DialSafePro”

  1. Bobette Bridenbaugh September 8, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Hi, I have done all the other entries and I’d love this app. I teach kids in a Jr. High. One of my major goals this year is to teach my students to use a phone and to be able to dial their own phone number. This would be an AWSOME addition to my lessons.

    Bobette Bridenbaugh

    contact me on facebook.

    • OMum22 September 8, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

      My first entrant! Thanks Bobette, I make that 5 entries for you. Good luck.

  2. Tiffany S September 9, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    I have liked all the pages, donated previously, but cant donate again now. so don’t know if that counts, lol. enter the sweepstakes awhile ago 😉

    thanks for having this give away! 🙂

    • OMum22 September 9, 2011 at 12:42 am #

      Hi Tiffany, I believe this gives you 4 entries! If you are able to buy a raffle ticket then feel free to come back and let me know and I’ll give you another entry 🙂

  3. Michelle Gagne September 9, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    Hi Deanne!
    I am commenting here to tell you to contact me via my Facebook page and that I have earned 3 additional entries. (see below)
    I “liked” your blog’s FB page.
    I already “liked” DialSafe” but stopped by and told them that you sent me.
    I entered the AbleNet Sweepstakes when Barb asked me to last month.

    I own the free version and would love to have the Pro version!

    Thanks for the chance to get this.

    Blessings –
    Michelle ❤

    • OMum22 September 9, 2011 at 12:51 am #

      Thank you for entering Michelle – good luck in the giveaway. Feel free to let folks know about it, the Pro version is definitely worth having!

  4. solodialogue September 9, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    You are quite proficient at reviewing an app and at getting “Likes” for that FB page of yours! You know I “liked” your FB long ago. This sounds like a great app. I’m not a contest “enter-er” (new word of the day) but I’m back! I must get this app for the little guy… I’m just a little nervous that he’ll actually do the 9-1-1 thing for real without an emergency – and then wouldn’t that be embarrassing and expensive! 🙂

    • OMum22 September 9, 2011 at 1:33 am #

      Karen is back!!!! Consider yourself entered twice! Really glad to see you back 🙂

  5. Katrena Lee September 9, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    I have done three of the entry requirements but we don’t need the app….just wanted to help raise awareness. I actually have the app and was part of a test program that allowed the recordings to be added and the simulator with preset responses to be added along with time in between for kiddos to try to respond. I love this program and hope to be able to use it with my mostly non verbal 9 year old so he can learn to use a phone 🙂

    • Katrena Lee September 9, 2011 at 3:20 am #

      mine doesn’t say pro but seems to have all these features and the settings button is actually almost hidden in a white bar at the very bottom but I think it is the same thing

      • OMum22 September 9, 2011 at 6:09 am #

        If you were involved in beta testing then you likely downloaded the free version then Scott gave you a code to use so you didn’t have to buy the Pro features as an in-app purchase.

    • OMum22 September 9, 2011 at 6:06 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Katrena – it is a great app 🙂

  6. Alison Rumball September 9, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    Hello,
    I would like to enter the contest, I have liked you and DialSafePro on Facebook, I entered the Ablenet contest awhile ago, I bought a raffle ticket on Monday, and I have donated to the 50/50/50 campaign. So I believe that is 5 entries. I may be contacted through Facebook.
    Thanks for organizing/running the giveaway.

    • OMum22 September 9, 2011 at 8:03 am #

      That’s great Alison – thanks for entering and good luck with the giveaway!

  7. Verna Pearce September 11, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Thanks for the opportunity to win this app. Delighted to see Aussie specific content. I have liked Dialsafe and Small but Mighty on FB and entered the Ablenet contest a while ago. I have also signed up for your blog. I can be contacted through FB.

    • OMum22 September 12, 2011 at 12:16 am #

      Hi Verna. Good luck with the giveaway! 🙂

  8. Jessica Lawson September 12, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Hi Deanne!

    Thank you for the opportunity to win this app!

    • OMum22 September 12, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      Jessica, no problem – I believe you’ve done everything so you have 5 entries 🙂

  9. Marie Henricksen September 12, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Hey Deanne, love your blog thank you for doing this. Your blog is very informative and intresting .

    • OMum22 September 12, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      Marie – I’ve got you down for 4 entries. Good luck with the giveaway hon! 🙂

  10. Carrie September 12, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Would love to try your app. I’m a teacher with 3 kids of my own under five! You can email me at carriestanek78@gmail.com thanks!

    • OMum22 September 12, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

      Thanks Carrie – I have you down for just one entry? Let me know if that’s not correct. Good luck.

  11. Pam Howard September 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Hello! Contact me at pamhoward2@gmail.com.
    I earned 3 additional entries.
    Thanks for the opportunity!

    • OMum22 September 12, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      Thanks for entering Pam! I’ve got you down for 4 entries. Good luck with the giveaway!

  12. Mellisa ~ ChinookJewelry September 12, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    I’d love to use this with several of the students I work with! I also entered the AbleNet sweepstakes. Thanks for the chance 🙂

    • OMum22 September 12, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

      Great – I make that 2 entries for you then Mellisa. Thanks for entering and good luck! 🙂

  13. Kendra Duncan September 12, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    I liked your Facebook page & Dial Safe’s Facebook page. I have also purchased a ticket for the Westmont High School fundraiser. I would love to have the Dial Safe app for my iPad so I could use it with my students. I am a Speech Pathology Paraprofessional & work with students age 9-21 who have multiple disabilities. This would be a great app to work on their personal information goals!

    • OMum22 September 12, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

      Hi Kendra! I believe this makes 4 entries for you. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with the giveaway!

  14. Billie Kibler Hart September 13, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    So glad to run across this from reading the Technology in Education feed on FB! I just purchased an iPad for a special needs preschool and this app would be great for them! I liked your facebook page and Dial Safe’s as well. I also entered into the Support Buddy contest. you can contact me via facebook! I hope to get a copy! 🙂

    • OMum22 September 13, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

      Hi Billie – welcome to my blog! Thanks for entering the giveaway – you have 4 entries – good luck 🙂

  15. Lynette Trease September 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Hello and thank you for this opportunity to enter to win the Dial Safe App! I have 5 entries, and would love to have this app to use with my 3 special girls and for all of the children at the schools where I teach. I am also a member of the A4CWSN community and believe that Gary James is an amazing man!

    • OMum22 September 13, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      Lynette – thanks for all your support for A4cwsn – wishing you lots of luck in the giveaway!

    • Lynette Trease September 13, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      I liked you and Dialsafe pages, purchased a ticket for the westmount raffle, I entered the Ablenet sweeps, and donated to the A4CWSN 50/50/50 campaign!

  16. Krista Williams September 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    I am entering your contest. I liked your FB page and dial safe. I also entered AbleNets sweepstakes a while back.

    Thanks!

    Krista

    • OMum22 September 13, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      Hi Krista – I make that 4 entries for you, good luck with the giveaway and thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  17. Heather Strebel September 13, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Hi! I have liked both pages and previously voted for Able Net. I bought a raffle ticket for the fundraiser earlier tonight and I also donated $10 to A4CWSN last week. You can contact me via Facebook.

    • OMum22 September 13, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

      That’s wonderful Heather – thanks for all your support for A4cwsn! Good luck in the giveaway 🙂

  18. Mommy Square September 14, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Pick me 😉 I need this one. Thanks! Liked you on fb and liked app.

  19. Amy Vinson Taylor September 15, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    Hi there! Great giveaway, for a lot of great causes! I liked DialSafe already so reposted that you sent me, I’ve liked you (and I’ve shared you both on my page ) I’ve entered the FREE AbleNet contest, so hopefully everyone else has too, and I’ve donated to A4cwsn (4 credits for that). That should be 7 additional credits.

    • Amy Vinson Taylor September 16, 2011 at 3:27 am #

      Oh and you can contact me (Amy Vinson Taylor) through facebook 🙂

  20. OMum22 September 18, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Thanks everyone for entering – the winners are: Carrie, Bobette, Tiffany, Kendra, Krista, Amy, Pam, Billie, Verna and Karen. I will be contacting you with your codes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

