So apparently, I’m a versatile blogger!

I know, get me! Folks, this is now an award-winning blog. Hehe.

I have to say, for a newbie blogger, this is pretty cool. Especially coming from Leah Kelly! She’s all smart and edumacated and such. There’s rules relating to accepting the award so please – read on Macduff:

  • Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them in your post. Thanks Leah! This truly was completely unexpected and I’m so touched that you enjoy reading my blog. For anyone who isn’t familiar with Leah’s blog, you should definitely check it out: http://30daysofautism.wordpress.com/ I especially like reading the perspective of a mother of an older ASD child as so many of the parents I know have younger ASD kids. Leah is also influential about bacon on Klout! Do I need to say anymore?
  • Share 7 things about yourself. Alright folks, brace yourselves:
    • I love water. Lakes, the bath, rivers, any kind of water relaxes and grounds me. I miss the ocean.
    • I’m allergic to sulfa antibiotics. I get these god-awful weals in my armpits if I take them. Ick.
    • I’ve hiked the classic Inca Trail. The highest point on the trail is Warmiwañusca or “Dead Woman’s Pass” and is 13,829 feet above sea level. It is also accurately named from my perspective as I suffered from altitude sickness on the hike (future blog post).
    • When I was 12, our class teacher asked everyone what they thought their vocation would be. I said I wanted to be a historian. He commented that in his entire teaching career, no other child had ever said that. I have always been a nerd. 🙂
    • After seeing the film Jaws for the first time as a child (in my bedroom on my little black and white portable tv) I was nervous about using the toilet.
    • Sushi is comfort food for me. It never fails to elevate my mood.
    • My favourite store is Lush. Smelling their products always brings a smile to my face.
  • Pass this award on to 15 other blogs

So, here are 15 other blogs that I love to read and that you may not be familiar with. I’ve also added some brief comments about why I enjoy reading them:

http://gingerheaddad.wordpress.com/ I know I’m biased but I love Jim’s blog. He’s a dad of three children, two of whom are on the autism spectrum. He’s the person who got me blogging in the first place (now you know who to blame!)

http://www.shawnphelps.com/ The other person who convinced me I should blog (spreading the blame around a little). Shawn’s a writer, currently involved in permaculture and community food programs. I love both her stories and her perspective.

http://solodialogue.wordpress.com/ The third in the triumvirate of people who are responsible for me starting this blog. Karen is a lawyer whose son is on the spectrum. She’s not blogging right now as she’s in the middle of a big trial. I miss her posts.

http://cgregoryrun.blogspot.com/ Cynthia’s tag is that she “likes to find the funny in everyday life”. She’s a mother of three children, one with SPD, one with ASD. I love her blog. It is funny and heartwarming and… I could go on but just go read it. It makes me smile.

http://drjengunter.wordpress.com/ Dr. Gunter is an OB/GYN. She’s a transplanted Canadian, a mother of kids who were born prematurely she wrote The Preemie Primer which I wish had been around when the boys were born. She blogs about health issues, primarily related to women. I find myself re-tweeting her blog posts all the time.

http://tiredx6.blogspot.com/ Kristine has 6 kids, all 3 of her boys are on the spectrum. She writes about everyday things and I love it.

http://mycornerofthepond.wordpress.com/ Dani is living with cancer, she has a teenage daughter and her younger daughter has developmental delays. Dani posts beautiful pictures of flowers from her garden.

http://thinkingautismguide.blogspot.com/ The blog I read for evidence-based information about autism. Fabulous resource.

http://www.squidalicious.com/ Shannon’s son is on the spectrum. Reading her blog convinced me I needed to get iPads for the boys and she was a great supporter of that process. She blogs about her family and posts pictures of them doing neat stuff in northern California.

http://racersmommy.blogspot.com/ I really wasn’t going to put any BlogHer attendees on this list because, you know, they have well-established blogs! But then I had to put Shannon on because she’s the reason I got the boys’ iPads and she’s on my blogroll after all. So then I HAD to include Lisa because she co-ordinated the A4cwsn blog hop and after all, I love her. She writes a very profane, funny, honest blog about her life as the mother of 7 kids, one with ASD.

http://runningforautism.com/ There has to be a Toronto blog on this list! Kirsten writes about her family, running… I like it a lot.

http://unmarket.posterous.com/ I need a geeky blog in here. I love ThumbArcade but their blog on their website is a bit.. low on content 😉 They’re fabulous on twitter and facebook (follow them!). Player 01 has an actual blog so that’s the one I’ve linked to here. I also find it informative and funny. There is no higher praise.

www.thautcast.com I found Landon through The Thinking Person’s Guide. I like getting the perspective of adults on the spectrum. My kids won’t always be children.

http://nealjennings.wordpress.com/ Token accounting blog (I’m kidding!!!!). Neal IS an accountant (we used to work at the same firm) but he doesn’t blog about accounting, thank god. He writes about politics, transit and stuff. Check him out because we could all use more “queer Canadian living in Australia” in our lives.

http://broxtermansblog.blogspot.com/ Melanie is a special ed teacher who uses tech in her classroom. I love her app reviews and the ideas she has for using apps for skills development.

Tags: ,

15 Comments on “So apparently, I’m a versatile blogger!”

  1. Player02 August 16, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Nice list… Working on more content for the blog. I also have a blog:

    http://ron-negotiable.posterous.com/

    Keep up the great work, mum!

    P02

    • OMum22 August 16, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      Thanks P02! I am excited that I get to discover your blog as well as P01’s. I’m a fan of all things Thumb-related, as you know.

  2. Lisa Gallegos (@lovelylicious) August 16, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    lol you are so funny! When I went to BlogHer I felt like such a baby blogger, lil fish big pond kinda feeling!

    I love you too and thanks!!

    • OMum22 August 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      You’re welcome Lisa. If I get to swing a trip to BlogHer next year, I’ll be the little fish and you can be big sister 😉

  3. Harnew August 16, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Who gives out this award?

    • OMum22 August 17, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      If you receive the award from another blogger then you get to give it out to 15 other bloggers that you like.

  4. Gingerheaddad August 16, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    You are very sweet. That is not the reason I encouraged you to blog, though. You have great stories and great experience. Having twins and being connected to the spectrum like you, I can use your insight. That you are a history nerd and a good writer are just more reasons to admire what you have to say. While we originally connected with pithy comments on Twitter, I am pleased that you have such great stories to tell on your blog. I am so grateful you decided to write.

    • OMum22 August 17, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      Thanks Jim. Your latest blog post about Daniel illustrates perfectly why people should be reading your blog – its really beautiful.

  5. Angel G August 17, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Congratulations! I like reading your blog 🙂 and the blogs you recommend are awesome!

    • OMum22 August 17, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      Thanks Angel, I’m really glad to hear you like the blog 🙂

  6. BubblesMakeHimSmile.com August 17, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    #16. http://www.bubblesmakehimsmile.com 😉

    Congrats on the award. Much deserved.

    • OMum22 August 17, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Thanks T! BMHS is well worth your time folks, I could have easily pulled together another 15 blogs that are a great read 🙂

  7. runningforautism August 17, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Thank you! That is so nice of you! I think your blog is fantastic – a great resource for autism parents. Keep up the great work!

    • OMum22 August 17, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      You are so welcome Kirsten. Anyone who helps inspire me to run is worth many, many awards, haha!

  8. danidawn (@min_svart_ros) August 20, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    Thank you sweetie. I saw the tweet when you posted it, but I did not bookmark it. Then when I went back to find it & I could not remember who gave it to me (Ya well I can blame it on chemo brain 😛 LOL). So I remembered it tonight so had to go back through all my tweets to find it.(took FOREVER cause well I have a netbook & it is dying. Sorry a little long winded.. Thank you 7 I will try to do my part this next week & yes I bookmarked it 😉

Leave a Reply

